Facing a Challenge? Why you might not want an expert.

Joe Lalley
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
6 min readFeb 11, 2024

--

Curiosity, the key piece of the expertise puzzle.

“Great news, I found an expert!” said Nancy. “Yes! Can’t wait to meet this person!” I said.

We’d been working on a large-scale website project that included a redesign of the way the website looked as well as an overhaul of the systems running behind the scenes to make it work.

I’d worked on projects like this before, but nothing of this scale. I was nervous about what I didn’t know and not all that confident in my ability to deliver. The team and I were discussing a few of the key decisions we’d need to make in the project and couldn’t agree on a direction.

“We need an expert.” I’d said. Everyone agreed. Then we each scanned our networks for someone who’d done something like this before. Nancy was the first to find someone, Steve. Steve was our expert.

Nancy reached out to Steve to ask if he might be able to join our next meeting and share some of his expertise. He said yes. I breathed a sigh of relief. Steve to the rescue!

A few days later, Steve was scheduled to show up to our meeting. He was late and I was feeling concerned. What if he didn’t show up? I had so many questions and very few answers. Steve suddenly burst into the room, tossed his bag on the table and looked towards Nancy. Nancy quickly introduced Steve to the team and thanked him for…

--

--

Joe Lalley
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Design Thinking, User Experience, Design Sprints, Remote Working