Finding Serendipity

Pratik Agarwal
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
5 min readNov 15, 2020
Photo by Constantinos Panagopoulos on Unsplash

First things first, in case you are wondering what serendipity means, this is the definition — the faculty or phenomenon of finding valuable or agreeable things not sought for. It can also be said to be the occurrence and development of events by chance in a happy or beneficial way. Simply put it would boil down to being at the right place at the right time.

Do you know people who are just lucky in life? Are you one of those who has never had to try too hard for anything in life? Do you know the kind of people who just wish for something and it comes their way? Would you write this clan off as just fortunate or do you think there is a science to their ability? If there is a science to it then won’t you want to learn it as well?

I have to admit, for most part of my life I have been rather lucky. That is not to say I have not had to work hard at all, neither is it to say that I’ve had it all easy. I have had to work hard but thankfully favourable results have usually followed. I have had my fair share of challenges as well but they have never been roadblocks, just speed bumps that I have managed to clear with enough effort and will. I have come to believe that with hard work and the right attitude success must follow.

Having said that, I see a lot of really hard working people around me who somehow fall short of their own mark. When I encounter these people I often wonder what it is that they are doing wrong or rather not just getting right? Is there any mantra to success or any particular way of doing things to guarantee success? It is then that I happened to stumble over serendipity.

I did my fair bit of research on the topic and thought it would be a good idea to share my learnings about the same. It is closely linked to the idea of manifestation that almost every religion in the world talks about. The Ask and you shall receive philosophy or the when you desire something, the whole universe conspires to help you achieve it philosophy, all these are ideal-ogies, how practical are they really?

I mean if it was really that simply then surely there would be no poverty in the world, no misery, no drudgery. Surely, no one chooses or wishes such things. If, in fact it is a matter of sheer choice, then why is everyone not happy and prosperous and abundant? Turns out there is a slight science to it after all. It’s not all spiritual and abstract.

Of the few theories I have read the most relevant and practical one I came across is based on the science is vibration. It is no secret that every object in the world whether living or inanimate vibrates at a certain frequency. This frequency is the very characteristic of the vibration. It determines the quality of the vibration. I guess that’s why a lot is said about vibes these days!

On a more serious note though, vibrations have the power to give and receive. I like to call this the bundling effect. Think of every atom and cell vibrating at a particular frequency as a transmitter and receiver. The thumb rule is that it can only give out and receive vibrations at the frequency it is at — period. So a lower frequency vibration receives more of that and gives out the same. So does a higher frequency.

This kind of explains a winning spree or a losing streak, doesn’t it. A person at a certain good vibration attracts all good things and can’t stop even though he might not be able to reason out what it is that he is doing right? On the other hand a person going downhill just cannot seem to fathom the reasons for his plight.

Good news, however, is that the frequency of the vibration can be changed. With practice and over a period of time one can gain control over their thoughts and hence their frequency. I’m no champion at this myself but if there is a science to it then it must be derivable as well. The objective is to be in touch with your frequency and change it if necessary. I am just mentioning a few exercises which seem to be practical and doable in this age and time.

THE MIND GETS BETTER WITH REPETITION

This is the basic principle behind most exercises to elevate or change your frequency. Like I’ve said before — the mind gets better at anything that it does more often. It cannot distinguish between good or bad. The mind just begins to replicate what it does more. Hence, things like affirmations work really well. I know people who rely on affirmations solely to achieve their goals or to change their state of mind. The internet is full of such affirmations and all it takes is one google search to find an affirmation if you cannot come up with one of your own.

Music is a great way to change your vibrations too. Music after all is vibration itself. Listening to good music automatically tunes your mind to higher and more rythemic frequencies which in turn increases your chances of vibrating at a better frequency. It is not a coincidence that a ringing bell or the chant of OM is soothing to the ears as it is to the mind. The vibrations that these sounds emit are at a frequency that soothe the mind.

Watching motivational videos and pep talks is a great way of changing too. The point is on paper it all sounds very easy and doable. However, it is easier said than done. It is not easy to simply start listening to music and more importantly listen to it mindfully when you are already having a rough day, let alone affirming something that is the bang opposite of your current situation.

There is a lot of literature on the subject. Whether it is the book The Power of Your Subconscious Mind or the more recent The Secret by Rhonda Bryne they all essentially talk about the law of attraction and the power of manifestation. One needs to start some place for sure.

A friend once told me he lost his watch. Both of us searched frantically for it. Only that I didn’t know what it looked like. I was looking for something but I didn’t know what it looked like. Finding serendipity is something like that. You don’t really know what you want and yet your search never stops!

--

--

Pratik Agarwal
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Write for myself, to pour my thoughts in words and make them count for myself.