Fox in London

Not so wildlife of London

Darius
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readMar 14, 2021

--

https://www.flickr.com/photos/9149006@N07/

They come out at night. They are brave beasts. They keep my dog awake. They come to visit our garden. Cats avoid them, foxes are the bosses of the night. I am not sure whether they are considered wildlife, they are not afraid to come close to people. The look on their faces tells me that they would fight for their lives if I was a danger to them. Sometimes, they follow me when I take the dog for a walk. I feel their eyes watching me, analysing me — am I a friend or foe?

It’s sad to see them killed by cars. I wish that they could leave and go somewhere safer, some forest far away from this town.

However, they are here, they didn’t escape when they had a chance. People came, cut the trees, built houses and factories, dug tunnels, erected statues. Foxes watched it and decided that there is no point to run, they learned to live with us.

I was amazed when I saw a fox for the first time, it was here, in London, casually crossing a road in town. I never saw a fox before, we have no foxes running around on the streets of Vilnius.

Hundred of years will pass, perhaps, there will be no humans left but foxes will be still here.

There is more interesting wildlife here. Green parrots live in West London, I have them visiting our garden. There are a few legends regarding their appearance in London.

The dirty town of London.

--

--