Generation Xers Are Going Through Their Midlife Crises Differently Than Boomers

Randy Smith
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readMar 21, 2023

--

How Gen-Xers Are Using Creativity to Rekindle and Reexamine Their Lives

photo by the Author

I’m a hardcore Gen-Xer. Having been lucky enough to have born in 1977, the year the Atari 2600 was first released commercially, and the year “Star Wars” first hit the screen, gives me serious Gen X street cred. If I ever got a tattoo, it would be of an X. Ok, I’m kidding, because I’m not in tattoos or needles or needless pain, but you get what I’m saying.

While listening to my favorite podcast, Good Is In The Details, I was struck by the on-air epiphany that makes absolute sense to me. The episode is called “The Rockstar Educator: Breaking Rules With Rich Balling,” and the guest was Rich Balling of The Sound of Animals Fighting (TSOAF) and formerly of RX Bandits.

Rich jokingly mentioned that he was going through his “midlife crisis” and that caused him to bring TSOAF back together and launch a national tour for one last shot of glory. Rich mentioned that one of the cohosts’ creative endeavors (which he does on top of his day job as a lawyer and which he used creativity to fight unhappiness) had inspired him. The female cohost of the show also chimed in and mentioned that she started the podcast as a part of her mid-life crisis . This led to an interesting discussion about how Gen-Xers like…

--

--

Randy Smith
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

This is my pen name. I write random musings about our semi-dystopian world, pop culture and nerdy things like transportation, film noir and music.