God Does Not Send People to Hell

Micah Ward
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
5 min readJun 28, 2020

--

He simply honors our choice.

Photo by Arisa Chattasa on Unsplash

It is one of those theological conundrums that arise from time to time. Why does a loving god send people to Hell? It is as prevalent as why do bad things happen to good people and why does a loving God allow suffering?

When Christian musicians and songwriters, Marty Sampson and John Steingard renounced their belief in God, all of those reasons were mentioned. It is difficult to reconcile the idea of a loving God sending people to hell. I get it that people may be puzzled by that concept. But I happen to believe that the answer is pretty simple and straight forward. A loving God does not send people to hell. He simply honors our choice.

I am not a theological scholar and will never claim to be one. If I had a disclaimer it would read: this is what I believe, but I could be wrong. I tend to look at most things from a very simple perspective. And when I contemplate this concept of a loving God sending someone to Hell, I think of the story of creation and the Garden of Eden. That is the starting point in understanding our relationship with God.

We are created by God and in the image of God. The story of the Garden of Eden illustrates that God not only created us but also created a magnificent planet with everything good for us to enjoy. But you can’t have everything good without having…

--

--

Micah Ward
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Micah is a retiree who writes, runs, prays and enjoys craft beer in the rolling hills of central Tennessee. He goes to the ocean when he can.