Grow Your ‘Favor Bank’ Account

Bianca Zagan
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readMar 1, 2021

--

It pays off to do good

Image by aaron burden on Unsplash

Over 15 years ago, when I read ‘The Alchemist’ by Paulo Coelho, an idea sprouted in my mind that I’d been doing since childhood, but didn’t understand what I was doing.

It’s the overused (but true!) ‘Give and you shall receive’.

In my case, it’s doing minor acts of service that cost me little effort, but are valuable to the one receiving it.

In childhood, it often was… helping with homework. Helping or letting my colleagues copy from me. I was either providing a little knowledge or saving folks from getting a low grade for not doing homework.

Later on, it was running small errands (or more significant ones). Or connecting some people, like a recruiter who needed a candidate with a friend who was dissatisfied in her job — success story! She thanks me even today for opening the path to her marketing career. Or making small favors to co-workers, such as double checking something, and making an extra step or two, to speed things up.

I did this with no immediate return of the favors, but knowing that I am adding to my ‘Favor Bank’ account. Somewhere, up there, every good deed adds up for when I might need some help from… anybody.

And what I noticed in those +15 years is that… the ‘Favor Bank’ is owned by God. The Divine…

--

--

Bianca Zagan
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Passionate about understanding how the irrational human mind creates our reality in 8 billion versions