Here Is A Sample Academic Cover Letter

Fahri Karakas
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
4 min readNov 9, 2020

--

Photo by Uta Scholl on Unsplash

I keep getting a lot of requests from young academics and individuals on how to write an academic cover letter. To respond to these requests, I have decided to share a real cover letter I have written and used in my academic job applications. This cover letter was written years ago (10 years ago, to be exact), but it did wonders for me in my job applications. I hope you find it relevant and useful in your own academic job applications.

Sample Academic Cover Letter

Dear Members of the ……….. University School of Management;

I am writing to apply for the Assistant Professor position in Organisational Behavior at the …………. University School of Management.

I have successfully finished my thesis in December 2009 and finished my Ph.D. in Management in Organizational Behavior at Desautels Faculty of Management at McGill University (Montreal, Canada). I have now been working as a Research Fellow at the IMPEL (International Management Practice, Education, and Learning) Centre at ……… University Business School (UK). I have been managing, organizing, and conducting collaborative research on international management and leadership at the ………. University, where I have had tremendous experience in applying to international research funding, leading a team of international researchers, and…

--

--

Fahri Karakas
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Associate Professor in Business & Leadership at University of East Anglia. Passionate about doodling, imagination, and creativity. Author of Self-Making Studio.