holding on

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readFeb 20, 2023
Photo by Chaney Zimmerman on Unsplash

the phone won’t stop ringing
but for that one call
you are waiting for
that number deleted
from your phone book
but still retained by memory

I feel reassured
when friends message
that they have reached
home safely
some just up and leave
without warning
I just want to know
whether they have got to
wherever it is people go
whether they are happy
how well they have adjusted
to the new environs
like asking your child
back from school
how the new pin code
is treating her

what if the phone rings
and you hear
its been a great misunderstanding
the person you grieve for
is alive
just that he cannot call
you see
he cannot for the life of him
remember your name

that would be enough compensation
just that, your friend being alive
or would it?

what are we without memories
without the threads
bridging our past and present
what would we give
to hold on
to preserve
the feeling of calm
the sense of peace

what would you give
to remember
simply stroking your child’s hair
or running your finger
across a dimpled cheek
looking for a non existing nose
or the warmth of a friend’s hug
taking ever so much care
not to press against your busted arm

we go back empty handed
would be a shame
if we had to go back
all alone
without even any memories

first lines heard in a movie called “Worth”

--

--

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write