How Do You Want to Feel Today?

Susan J Hilger
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readAug 10, 2019
Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

You can get up every day, have your tea or coffee, read the news and focus on the disturbing crap. You can read the stories, feel the anger and sadness and choose to talk about it, repeat it, post it and carry it around with you.

OR … You can enjoy your morning, your kids, pets and all the beauty right in front of you. Look up at the sky, appreciate the rainfall, breathe in fresh air. I love to practice my morning self care routine, journal, read, a few sun salutations and take a long walk with my partner and pups. Decide what feels good, peaceful, relaxing. Make it make sense, start here.

Maybe you can set a few goals, decide to be more active or eat a healthier diet, go to a fun market, or start a new project or hobby. I feel energized and motivated when I think and stay in forward motion, to create what is next for me. I also love my down time, my time to just BE.

At some point, if you choose to absorb the news and the talking heads, or the internet … perhaps you decide how and what it is you can do to make a difference today. Just for today. And I realize this sounds like I’m suggesting we turn and look the other way. No, I never will believe we can do this. And I’m hoping we find a collective way to reconnect ourselves again to create bigger change.

In the meantime, what you focus on will direct your energy and your day. You decide, it really is a choice. How do you want to feel today?

--

--

Susan J Hilger
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I love my pups, my partner and the sea. I spend my days working with people who know how to make money, & have all the toys, yet they want so much more!