How I Cope with my Work- Induced Stress?

Sushmita Kerketta
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
4 min readMar 1, 2021

--

Reflect back and identify your stressors first..!!

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

During my corporate days, I did experience severe work-induced stress. And its outcomes were understandably visible to everyone around….Except me.!! Severe depression followed me simultaneously until one of my close friends made me realise that things were not going on the right track. I remember one of my other friends told me that “ things are stirring round and round on my head and they aren't settling ”.

I was having sleep disturbances from the previous months and was always occupied with the thoughts of being efficient at my workplace. There was no consistency in my appetite and was able to go hours without food, without even realising. The surrounding seems like buzzing bees around me like I shouldn't have been in it. The work was burdensome, and the most loved things weren't fascinating anymore.

Stress in the workplace is very very common. Strict timelines to complete a project, Constant need to prove oneself efficient enough, beat all other competitors to be the best, not being paid or appreciated for your hard work, demanding job roles, lack of anonymity, working under supervision and overload are some of the most common sources that induce stress at work. But do you think it's normal to have such experiences? Most of us experience this combination of physical and emotional tension, but lesser did many of us know that there is a limit. If the limit exceeds and office stress impacts your personal life, relationships, your physical and mental health then the alarm has rung..!!! It's time to intervene..!!

Researchers Point of View

According to Harvard Health Publishing, July 6, 2020, a stressful situation rooted in the environment, work, deadlines, can trigger stress hormones, resulting in physiological changes like muscle tension and sweating. It is suggestive that chronic stress can contribute towards high blood pressure and bring changes in the functioning of your brain- resulting in severe anxiety and depression.

A stressful work environment can induce mental health issues like anxiety, sleep disturbance, frequent mood swings, disturbed appetite, hormonal imbalances, and ultimately being diagnosed with severe depression. And since physical and mental health is complementary to one another, their effect can be clearly seen in your physical health. Very commonly, a person with uncontrolled stress will have weight loss, visibly deeper dark circles, dry and sad face appearance, issues of gastritis, weak immune, and unmanageable addiction.

The realisation is your First Step Towards Coping With Office Stress
Many of us fail to identify the most common symptoms of stress, and in the case of work-induced stress, it is very common. Stress is often taken as something normal which follows any 9 to 5 job and if a person wants to earn pennies, they have to go through it. Help comes in only when a person realizes and accepts that they are in a situation that isn't normal and needs help.

Track Your Triggers
Reflect back and identify your stressors. Figure out the last time, when you were mad at someone, unable to take food due to a rivalry with your colleagues, or were upset because your presentation did not go up to the mark. Now deduct down to the most common triggers that have made you slip down your normal track. Once you succeed in tracking your triggers, note them down so that you remember them.

Build Your Immunity Towards Stress
Once you are ready with the possible triggers and enough information from the internet about stress, try developing your own coping strategy. I personally try to be more inclined towards spirituality when I find something stressful. I remember my friends suggesting building a positive attitude towards every injustice that happens at the workplace. Remember every experience good or bad will contribute towards your strong and enduring character formation as well as professional growth.

If It's Uncontrollable, Ventilate it To the Earliest
Ventilating your worries and fears can be done in many ways. Your best friend/ life-partner /parents are the best ones to do so. You can write them down, journal..!! Write everything out, every minute detail that you feel, have experienced, your failures or your fears. Social media has a lot of scopes to ventilate, you can do it there too but do it anonymously, to maintain your privacy.

Seek Professional Help if Required
If nothing of the above-mentioned points work for you, please seek professional help. Professionals can definitely help you in your journey to take control of your stress.

What I Personally do and is Still Doing Whenever Needed, to Avoid Workplace Stress?
1. Built a good mutual rapport with my colleagues, which is promoting healthy competition and cooperation.

2. Completing tasks of the day each day. Small progress every day helps me avoid procrastination and the unwanted accumulation of work.

3. Whenever I need it, I speak to my immediate in-charge and have also expressed my conditions. This has helped in a considerate attitude of my supervisors towards me. However, it doesn't mean that I am allowed to compromise with my efficiency level. But just knowing the very thing that your supervisor understands instigate a sense of security.

4. Starting to have a life outside the professional realm. The weekdays, evening tea-times and breaks are definitely for my colleagues, but my weekends and vacations are for my family, friends and my pet.

--

--

Sushmita Kerketta
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

A Doctoral Scholar of Mental Health and a pandemic-born writer with the soul of a philomath. I write about anything and everything that touches my life.