How I Self-Sabotaged Myself due to Low Self-Esteem

Tanmay
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readMar 15, 2023
Photo by Inzmam Khan: https://www.pexels.com/photo/man-in-black-shirt-and-gray-denim-pants-sitting-on-gray-padded-bench-1134204/

During my childhood, I noticed that I engaged in self-sabotage due to low self-esteem.

My parents frequently criticized me, especially my father, who often belittled me whenever I helped him with work. His verbal demands led me to believe that I was incompetent. My mother, too, was critical and rarely praised me, despite my good academic achievements. I used to be on the top ranking list in my class and my peers saw me as a genius except myself.

Consequently, I started to view myself negatively and believed that I didn’t deserve success or praise. This belief became a self-fulfilling prophecy, as I stopped studying hard and started looking for shortcuts and easy ways to study.

Although I knew I needed to study hard, my low self-esteem convinced me it was pointless because I was no good and didn’t deserve success or happiness. I even distanced myself from my intelligent friends and started relating to friends who shared my negative beliefs.

All of this led to self-sabotage and caused many problems that negatively impacted my mental health and life outcomes. My low self-esteem also led me to develop a fixed mindset.

In hindsight, I now realize how much my low self-esteem affected me negatively and took me back years from success.

--

--