How to change your RSVP to Accepted or Tentative for an invite you declined in Microsoft Outlook

Tremaine Eto
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readMay 1, 2021

--

Original photo by Nathan Maduta on Unsplash

Recently, I declined a meeting in Microsoft Outlook because I could not make the time that it was scheduled.

However, my plans changed, and with that came the fact that I was able to make the meeting that I had declined.

However, the meeting had disappeared from my calendar view in Outlook once it had been declined. I was unable to click into it and then change my RSVP.

In this brief article, I will go over how you can find the invite that had been declined and how you can change the RSVP after the fact.

Finding the declined invite

To find the declined invite, first make sure that the Mail icon is selected in Outlook (on my view, it was on the bottom left side).

Then, navigate to Deleted Items on the menu where all the folders should be listed. The default view should have this on the left-hand side.

Click here next.

Then, your list of items should populate with all deleted items. The important thing here is that these items aren’t just e-mails; rather, they also…

--

--

Tremaine Eto
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Senior Software Engineer @ Iterable | Previously worked at DIRECTV, AT&T, and Tinder | UCLA Computer Science alumni | Follow me for software engineering tips!