How Unplugging From the News and Social Media in the Midst of the Pandemic, Helped Me Reconnect with my Purpose and Heart

Kasia Patzelt
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
5 min readOct 16, 2020

--

Disclaimer: This article is not intended to make anyone or anything wrong and tell people what to do. I simply wish to share my experience and what works for me.

I spent the first three months of the pandemic constantly online. The lockdown hit like a tsunami wave out of nowhere and I, like so many of us, was in shock. How could my world change so much so fast?

I was desperately trying to make sense of what was going on around me. Isolated in my little casita in Spain without any human contact for the first two weeks, I spent hours every day researching everything. From watching the stats go up daily, to different ted talks, and various ‘conspiracy’ theories all the way to astrology explaining how the stars have already predicted what was about to happen in 2020.

Then I crashed.

After three months of this diet, my system just shut down. I was numbed. I couldn’t take in anything anymore, the good, the bad, and the boring. To my overstimulated Nervous System, it was all irrelevant superfluous data.

After watching ‘The War on Sensemaking’ by Daniel Schmachtenberg I at least got a glimpse of why I was feeling the way I was. It’s not possible to…

--

--