How we lost our passion for money

Never turn your passion into a JOB

Himanshu Gupta
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readOct 10, 2020

--

Have you ever wondered once you read a few articles on improving your writing style or looking for guidance, Medium’s, or any other blogging platform’s algorithm throw tons of suggestions on the same topic?

I love their suggestions, but articles like “How I made $1000 with an article”, “How you can monetize your writing,” “How to be a millionaire with your writing?” annoy me a lot.

I feel like, please give me a break.

I am not against getting paid for writing, but it is disheartening to see people losing their passion in pursuit of money.

And everything lands on the amount of traffic on our articles, whether our story got curated from Medium.

In the last few decades, only a few are passionate about writing and intended to contribute towards society and humanity; the rest are running after the money they can make.

I never saw writing as an option to earn money; I know what I need to do to pay my bills. I believe if you are doing something for money means you are not enjoying and having fun in the process. You are always under the constant pressure of deadlines, quality, and quantity of your articles, views on your stories, etc.

In this process, you lost the vision of why you started writing in the first place. Writing is always a medium to share your views on topics you are fascinated about, share your experiences that can make a difference in people’s life.

I always enjoy writing my heart out, though sometimes I share, and sometimes I am not. I am not stressing out about the quality of my articles, though I am improving day by day, because my bills are not coming from my writing.

In the end, I would suggest not to make your passion into something which stressed you out. You should enjoy the activities you are passionate about and gives you a relaxing environment.

--

--