I Used ChatGPT To Teach Me Yoruba FAST: Here Is What I Learned In 20 Minutes!

Fahri Karakas
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
52 min readMar 4, 2023

--

Photo by Ayoola Salako on Unsplash

This morning I became interested in learning Yoruba. The Yoruba Language is unique to Africa and its variants are spoken across West Africa, Nigeria, Cuba, Republic of Benin and Tobago.

At this stage in my life, I am more open to learning new languages, and Yoruba is among the languages I want to learn. However, I do not have the time, energy, and dedication to learn Yoruba at this stage in my life.

I wondered if I can use ChatGPT and Open AI Playground to help me in this regard. Can I use artificial intelligence to help, inspire, or accelerate us in our journeys of language learning?

First, I asked ChatGPT the following prompt to see what it comes up with:

“How can I learn Yoruba very quickly with your help? Teach me Yoruba as much as you can!”

Here was the answer:

The best way to learn Yoruba quickly is to practice, practice, practice! There are a variety of resources available online to help you learn the basics such as, self-teaching books, audio recordings and videos, or even taking a class. Also, find native speakers to practice with to help you build your vocabulary and learn how to properly conjugate verbs and other grammar rules. Also, take advantage of Yoruba culture by…

--

--

Fahri Karakas
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Associate Professor in Business & Leadership at University of East Anglia. Passionate about doodling, imagination, and creativity. Author of Self-Making Studio.