I want to bring the change

Arunima Raghav
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
4 min readJul 3, 2020
Image from Google from creative commons licenses. Image link: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.flickr.com%2Fphotos%2Fquotedwallpaper%2F8202559823%2F&psig=AOvVaw1h5Iu5FqwK568Q5OrPiaXG&ust=1602659772541000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAIQjRxqFwoTCMD66I6DsewCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

I was 11 years old, I always observed things in my surroundings and asked myself questions about it like Why? How? I always analyzed situations around me.

It was the first time I got to know about the concept of untouchability from books (the concept of discrimination in which upper caste people don’t touch lower caste people). It was the first time I got to know about the term inequality which affects me to the core.

Image from google creative commons licenses. Image link: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.needpix.com%2Fphoto%2Fdownload%2F290178%2Findia-reuse-resources-woman-woman-looking-in-the-garbage-free-image-free-pictures-free-photos-free-images&psig=AOvVaw2oP1NGH_nuRLrDjdmooXpA&ust=1602660327629000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAIQjRxqFwoTCNCeypeFsewCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

I started to observe my surroundings more and more. In some way like every other girl in the world, I experienced inequality. I observed the discrimination based on the gender in very small things and it really affects me and I became aware about gender inequality.

I noticed that there are always restrictions on small things done by a girl, there are some specific careers which are “safe” for girls and career options which require travelling and more work are not made for girls. People told “At the end, you have do run the house, so you should choose your career according to that.” Many times that thought passed my mind and I wished that if I was a boy, life would be so easy.

Image from Google creative commons licenses. Image link: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.flickr.com%2Fphotos%2Funwomenasiapacific%2F25855966135%2Fin%2Falbum-72157665885807251%2F&psig=AOvVaw0IEytrSu_CizLGMLUFJWOE&ust=1602660164703000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAIQjRxqFwoTCMCdr9KEsewCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

One day I was just thinking all this and suddenly I asked myself, Why girls have to think so much before taking every step in their lives?

I think about the career options that are less accepted by society and not consider “safe” for girls. This broke me that I have to struggle a lot to make my place in that career just because I am a girl!

I just said to myself “I want a society in which I or any other girl do not need to compromise in their career just because we are girls.” I said “A girl should not be scared to choose any career option just because she is a girl.”

At that time, the little me did not know that what I was thinking, I just said to myself, I didn’t know that this one line is going to change my life, my way of thinking and my goals in life.

This was the turning point in my life, the initiation of the journey to think about others, to live for this world, to become selfless and to know the main goal of my life.

I thought that everyone have some purpose why they are born and I thought that purpose is to bring a change.

Year by year I noticed all this. I was (I am) living in two worlds, one is the outer world and other is my inner world. I like my inner world that I created for myself more because it inspires me, keeps me going and helps me to grow.

Image from Google creative commons licenses. Image link: https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fcommons.wikimedia.org%2Fwiki%2FFile%3AIntrospection_-_Sunset.jpg&psig=AOvVaw3xk0I7QGgSfFyGu2XGLIjT&ust=1602660470305000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAIQjRxqFwoTCIjJleyFsewCFQAAAAAdAAAAABAR

These thoughts always remain in my mind. I was a kid, I just thought that I want to bring a change, I didn’t knew what it actually means, I didn’t know that it will make me a person I am today and I am proud of it.

From years, I have so many thoughts in my mind, my inner world, my own world. In someway, it makes me to realize that we all are born to bring a change.

Everyone is doing a lot of hard work to become successful but I think that the actual feeling of satisfaction comes when you do for others.

I want to bring a change. I want to do for society. I want to become an example of humanity. I want to change the lives of millions of people.

At the end, I want to say to myself “Yes, I did it!” I am thankful that there was just a spark of second when my younger self said “I want to bring a change.” That moment makes me realize who I really am.

Introspect yourself! Understand your inner world more than that outer world. You will find a storm, your goal, your purpose of life.

--

--