I will write shorter articles from now on (and here’s why)

Mac Camara
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readJun 15, 2021

Okay, Medium Fans, just like what my headline says, from now on I am going to write shorter blog posts, and why you should do it too.

Here are my top 3 reasons WHY.

1. People’s attentions are getting shorter and shorter every day. It’s best to give what they want immediately.

Why you may ask?

It’s why they are hooked and read your article in the first place and you owe them the answers immediately.

2. Copywriting and even content writing are now having a bad reputation.

Here’s why. Most content creators and copywriters are writing for themselves.

What do I mean?

They stuff their post and articles with words according to them.

They are not direct with their point. In the end, people might not read it to the end because your post is long and wordy and it is boring the shit out of them.

3. Shorter article means a better reading experience.

Have you ever clicked an article or post and then when you scanned the whole of it, you noticed that it’s very long and contains big blocks of words?

What happens after that?

Yup, you didn’t read any of it.

How about when you are about to read a Medium article and you saw that it will take you 20 minutes to read it from start to finish?

The same thing will happen. You are not going to read it.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

I know most articles will not end this way immediately but I will be different.

As for my final words, put yourself in the shoes of the reader.

The person who goes online is most probably bored. You don’t want him to bore him more, right?

It’s best to entertain the reader in the shortest amount possible. If you are going to post something valuable, make it concise and direct to the point.

Do not overstuff your post with words that are not relevant.

So the next time you are wondering why no one reads all your post. Think of the things I mentioned above.

Are your articles boring? Let your readers decide. Have a great day.

--

--

Mac Camara
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I translate what's going on in my life in words here. More specifically, I will document my digital marketing problems and share my journey on how to solve them