I’m the Guy Who Gave You Those Forty-Nine Claps

If I read your story, I give no more and no less

Jim Farina
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

Photo by Alexander Dummer from Pexels

If you don’t believe me, check for yourself. Ever since I’ve been writing on Medium — going on my second year now, it’s been my practice to give every story I read 49 claps. This is my standard, regardless of the quality of your work. It could be an amazing, well-researched piece of long-form brilliance, or it could be a thoughtless, phoned-in piece of dung. It doesn’t matter. If I read your story, you are guaranteed 49 claps.

Why Not the Maximum Fifty Claps?

Honestly, I’m not certain why. I believe it’s partially in response to those stingy clappers who can only afford a single clap. What’s that about anyway? The first time somebody only clapped once for a story I posted, I felt slighted. It happens more frequently than I’d expect. This makes me wonder if some people don’t realize that you can hold down that clap button for longer than a fraction of a second. My skin is thin enough as it is. I don’t need help if attempting to erode my self-esteem is your goal.

Also, giving 49 claps is my way of saying, you can always do a little bit better. Giving a writer 49 claps takes only a few seconds to accomplish. To me, giving somebody a single clap is worse than giving none at all. I suspect…

--

--