In the Dark, the Fairies Come

Lisa Dunbar Solas
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
7 min readNov 19, 2020

--

Moments of joy and wonder arrive when the portal of our imagination opens

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Recently, I have been exploring the mysterious and magical world of nature spirits. I confess that I have had a lifelong love of them. I was the kind of child who drew and wrote stories about the fairies, gnomes, and elves. However, I eventually stopped sharing stories because I was often made to feel embarrassed of my interest. Then, late last year, my life came full-circle, as I began to trace the footsteps of my Scottish ancestors. I am learning Scottish Gaelic and reading Celtic mythology. As I struggle to pronounce Gaelic words and phrases, something inside of me is germinating, sprouting, and growing, taking root in an ancestral landscape. Once more, I find myself roaming through the intangible realms of Mother Nature.

As I read modern and ancient folkloric and mythical accounts of encounters with the supernatural and mystical beings, I see reoccurring elements, which make me wonder about the true nature of being human. Some of these stories I feel hold wisdom for these modern and dark times. In this story, I share what I have learned so far.

Who are the fairies?

For a moment, I ask that you kindly put Tinker Bell and the Fairy Godmother aside in your mind; we’ll return to these modern representatives of a supernatural race…

--

--