Intuition

The Introspective Mind
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readNov 16, 2020
A trek to self discovery ~ Author’s image

While I sit here and type away at this new piece, I fumble and falter to gather the right set of words to explain this powerful word.

How do I write about this very word, when I am still stuck in the process of grasping its true meaning.

I’ve been told ever since I was four feet four inches, to follow my gut. To take my intuition as my command and do as I please. Yet, instead of taking my intuition into account, I often find myself gathering inputs from my surroundings through people’s interpretations and follow their appeal.

And now, as I sit here, I find myself perplexed as to what really are these words, ‘follow your intuition’?

How does intuition look like when all you have is a pair of eyes and a mind that has been conditioned with years of history.

Is intuition a leans that can clear the dust of the mirror, show you reality and guide you in the ‘right’ direction? And, what is this so called ‘right’ direction? Is there something called ‘right’ to even begin with?

What is my current thought process regarding the above subject?

Absorption ~ Author’s image

There is nothing such as intuition!

Ever since we were born, our mental structure is like a tape recorder which consistently works its recordings in wakefulness and in sleep. Its subtleness is ignored as we continually process our daily happenings. The dreams seem other worldly, when in fact are nothing but the many layers of everyday interpretations. From the moment we gained consciousness as a new born to this present moment, we are in a state of ‘pick up and throw’. Which is why, in the psychological community, emphasis is often given to the childhood period. During this period, absorption of information supersedes response.

As we grow older, we ought to respond. If we like it or not, we have to earn a living and initiate response in order to achieve credit in our pockets. Hence, there is no ‘right’ direction.

You make the direction right for you. You create a path that is aligned with your genetic skillset and conditioned reality.

Does this mean intuition is a lie? No, it isn’t.

With societies virtues of right and wrong, organized religion explaining ‘the way of life’, political leaders having their own selfish motives in leading a nation and spiritual guru’s marking their dominance to control sections of the population — Amidst all of this, You have a choice!

And in that moment of choice, to pause and utilize an open space within your mind and make that intelligent choice to favor YOU above all, is intuition.

Greener on the other side ~ Author’s image

Because intuition in its simplest form, favors your wellbeing, potential and growth. It prioritizes your needs and protects your future self. It retrieves information that aids your survival and helps you make a suitable decision.

Hence, I would re-define the word intuition in my personal dictionary due to its ambivalence and define it as -

A medium that provides a choice to prioritize my inner child’

And finally, since you reached thus far into this read, please take the time out to listen to a musical escapade from the Legend, John Lennon’s Intuition ~

Cheers & Happy reading! :)

--

--