Self | Writing | Life

Keep Calm and Write On

Don’t complicate the Medium Partner Program

Yan Huang
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readOct 5, 2020

--

I am done reading all these folks who say how they make $10, $100, or $1000 per month from Medium

It sets off some kind of atmosphere of unhealthy competitiveness amongst us. And I don’t like it. It feels like we are chasing vanity. And I don’t like it.

Maybe it’s me. But I am more of a collaborative person than a competitive one. At least, I know I hung up my figure competition heels 8 years ago and never looked back because I sense the same vanity-chasing atmosphere.

Sure, some healthy competition is good and promotes quality work to some extent but all these fixations on hitting the dollars as a primary goal in a month are just making some of us passionate writers who love writing, not feel at ease. I feel like a failure, and I know I am not the only one feeling this way.

It robs the very joy of what writing is to bring.

We write because we must.
We write because it keeps us sane in this insane world.
We write because everything begins from the heart. And the world needs more hearts.

--

--

Yan Huang
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Building connections one word at a time. | Bylines in few start-ups | Cancer survivor at 23 | More stories at http://yuyanhuang.substack.com