Listening to Your Body’s Signals Can Prevent Heartbreak

Even when your mind is willing to chance it

Rachel Gerk
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

Photo by Erriko Boccia on Unsplash

My last 20 years dating have been spent in relationships that weren’t quite right for me but never understanding exactly why. I felt like I had connected with another person deeply, only to realize a few years down the road that we didn’t want the same things and couldn’t remember why we had gotten together. After any breakup, I could tell you the reasons we had finally ended it but never what the underlying cause was.

Worse, I put so much energy into making the relationships work, into convincing us both we were what the other wanted, there was nothing left for my own passions and hobbies. I lost my inner fire in needing to belong to someone, to be validated by their love. After ending yet another five-year cohabitation with someone who didn’t seem to know me at all, the cycle began to reveal itself; I had to look inward for answers.

“The body is designed to support the mind, and this mutual support creates the state known as happiness. When choosing a certain behavior, ask your body, “How do you feel about this?” If your body sends a signal of physical or emotional distress, watch out. If your body sends a signal of comfort and eagerness, proceed.” Deepak Chopra¹

--

--

Rachel Gerk
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Ex-chef/cook, current food-lover, equal parts adventurer and stay-at-home introvert, photography enthusiast, and spiritual explorer. Also, cats dig me.