Making Time by Doing More

This all started with a dream — learning to play guitar.

Jose Guzman
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readDec 18, 2021

--

Guitars are the coolest instruments. I’ve always thought this, and it’s in my blood. I remember seeing videos of my uncles and relatives playing in their mariachi group and wanting to be part of that.

I even remember reading someone’s advice for meeting women was just to carry a guitar around.

People automatically think you’re some sort of musical talent and everything weird about you is just an addition to your exotic and quirky character.

Well, I have been playing. I’ve been getting better for three years now, but then the excuse of not having enough time comes up. I forget my scales, and I’m down from where I was.

People are surprising because:

We don’t value our own hard work. We don’t realize when we’re circling back.

“Not Enough Time” is the Number One Excuse

“I can’t hangout because I’m too bust with school…work…family”. The list of excuses is ongoing and is why I appreciate text invites more than anything. I can reject invitations without having to look someone in the eye.

I was the guy that was always too busy because I chose to be “busy”. No I don’t want to hangout, and I don’t want to be a jerk. I don’t want to lose or miss out on future plans, but I don’t want to do something right now, exactly.

This is how our minds work. They drive us and make us waste time on pointless memes, Netflix series, and other distractions that keep us from our dreams.

We’d rather sit and be comfortable while running two percent of all our brain power. People learn new ways to be lazy with thier time. Playing guitar is the last thing anyone would want to do. It’s a mental workout and progress is slow. It sucks at first.

I have this argument with myself every day. I am too tired for guitar. I am too sore. It’s almost time for bed.

What if I Didn’t Make So Many Excuses?

Whenever I commit to playing every day, the progress is incomparable.

Practicing every day is the secret.

To be a chess master for example takes practicing for a long, long time:

“a chess master to reach the level of mastery, i.e. playing at a certain level in competitions…took on average ten years of consistent practice for a chess student to reach this level”

Being successful, especially in the demanding culture that we live in means learning to fit bite-sized habits into our busy schedules.

Being disciplined enough to practice half an hour a day is more important than playing guitar for five hours every weekend. Your hands develop better as they have more repetition and rest periods.

Practice allows one to advance and become a guitarist. A different version of yourself begins to develop.

Doing More Each Day Creates a Sense of Fulfillment

Nothing is worse than seeing the days go by and feeling like an empty void. You’re nearing your thirties and you still haven’t done a live show or a gig. Things get scary.

Guitar is something that I actually want in my life. I keep forgetting that it’s not a sprint but a marathon.

Learning to play any instrument is a huge accomplishment and adult learners will always be jealous of young prodigies.

By doing a little “extra” each day towards something you want gives life meaning. This is an overstated piece of advice. It sounds too good to be true.

However, life is more when we’ve filled the time with meaningful and artistic endeavors. The little bit of hard work compounds over time. It’s a way to live multiple lives.

You’re corporate by day and guitarist by night.

--

--

Jose Guzman
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Literature focused with an interest in life, relationships, and learning. USMC Vet