Money-Making Niche? That’s a Myth

Why there’s no such thing

Shailaja V
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readDec 1, 2020

--

Photo by Icons8 Team on Unsplash

“Can I make money if I am not in a money-making niche?”

Earlier today, I got this question from a loyal reader of mine and I just HAD to answer it here for everyone else who may have this question too.

She sent me this while asking to read my private income report in which I had shared how I grew my income from X to 4 X in 4 months.

I was so glad she did!

Because I know that there is this myth that certain niches make money more than others. That’s also the dream that people try to sell you:

Pick the right niche and you’ll be making money in no time!

A) There’s no such thing as a money-making niche

B) Whatever niche you pick, you CAN make money if you know what to focus on

Before I explain my secret to how I actually make money and made money before I switched niches, here are three clarifications.

1️⃣ First, I am not in the ‘make money’ niche. Those are personal finance bloggers- completely different niche.

2️⃣ Second, my niche is coaching and consulting.

3️⃣ Third, my NICHE has nothing to do with my income.

Confused? I know.

Okay, so here are the secrets right here and right now to how I make money with this niche (coaching) and how I used to make money with my earlier niche (parenting).

READY?

Invest Time

I worked diligently on building my organic audience of regular readers, engaged subscribers, and loyal followers. For my parenting blog that happened from 2013 to 2018- over 4 years.

For my business, it’s almost 3 years now since March 2018. Anyone who tells you that you can start a niche website and make money in 6 months is not telling you the whole story.

Everything takes time. Sustainable income? It takes even more time.

Be Transparent with your Audience

I share whatever I learn, whatever I know, what has helped me, and what has hurt my growth. In other words, I am transparent (sometimes a bit too much, I think)

I recommend products/courses/ideas that have moved the needle for my business.

️ I make it a point to only talk about what I know- from experience and from experimentation.

Is it EASY to make money in any niche?

No. It takes time, effort, consistency, and building trust with your audience.

Is it POSSIBLE to make money in any niche? ABSOLUTELY.

The point is if you are willing to go the extra mile and learn how to do it, then making money is doable.

By the way, that’s what I teach people: Not how to make money; but how to build that organic audience and do it while doing the work that you love completely.

*More about what I do over on my blog.

--

--

Shailaja V
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Digital minimalist. Writer. Bibliophile. Vegan. Walking is my meditation. More about me: www.shailajav.com