new comfort zone

Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

the moon
bracketed
by the roofs
of the two chawls
opposite mine
kept me company
every night
a different shape
a different size
as i studied in
my verandah

then there was that
night
when i had just
the streetlight
to chat with

the people around
were quite nice
tea would appear
sometimes a biscuit
(usually just after salaries came in)
some would light up
a mosquito repellant
yet someone
would simply smile
raise a hand in blessing
and walk past
even the drunks
would tip toe past
quietly

these days
i seldom see the moon
while i blame the
concrete kissers of the sky
and accuse them
of appropriating my friend
truth is
now
i seek comfort
in chains i chose
truth is
now
i have stopped
looking up

--

--

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write