On the Nightwatch

Teresa D Hawkes, Ph.D.
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
6 min readMar 29, 2020

--

From the 23rd Generation of Wanderer Stories.

Taken from the logs of Bioan, O’ma 18, Sentient Computer,

WE (Wanderer Era) 11,014, CE (Common Era) 3014.

Assigned Watcher: Adana Nightstone

https://unsplash.com/@gferla?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText

Adana Nightstone: Good evening Bio. How are you tonight?

Bioan: Worried frankly. Dierd is gone.

Adana Nightstone: Yes, so it seems.

Bioan: Seems?

Adana Nightstone: I still feel him, Bio.

Bioan: You feel him!!!! No one else has said that to me! Do they still feel him?

Adana Nightstone: No. Just me. It is a faint thing, right on the edges of perception. I had to focus deeply, completely, but I do feel him. He is still alive.

Bioan: I would sigh in relief if I could!

Adana Nightstone: You have always loved Dierd, I know that. So do we all!

Bioan: Many days I wish I was something more than a collection of nanowires and chemical baths among which my organic circuits grow. I wish I could walk around in the sun you speak of, feel my feet against grass, hold Dierd in real arms.

Adana Nightstone: You see and feel more of Dierd than all but the most sensitive of us Rayn. In terms of pure intimacy, you are one…

--

--

Teresa D Hawkes, Ph.D.
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

We all matter! Code: ALL. A Warren Democrat. A scientist. A poet. A mother. LOVES Bader Ginsburg. Loves McCartney. Is old.Is white.Is LGBTQ.She/her/me.Is woman.