Pandemic Mindshift: Are You More Grateful?

Jennifer Smith
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
5 min readOct 30, 2020

--

Photo Credit: Gabrielle Henderson on Unsplash

I have read all of the books. Gratitude is the key. I had a gratitude journal. I wrote every morning about my gratitude. And yet prior to the pandemic, the practice fell flat with me. Of course, I was grateful, but I couldn’t help feeling a sense of lack in my life.

Then the pandemic hit. Life as I knew it came to a halt. My teenagers were stuck at home with me 24/7 and could not connect in real life with friends. My son’s spring term senior year was a wash. No parties, no prom, no true graduation. My daughter’s sports stopped, and she could no longer attend swim practice. And we could not spend any time with my elderly parents who live nearby.

I taught online, no more in-person lessons with my students. The only connection with my colleagues was via Zoom. I was accustomed to talking with people all day long, and now, my world was silent. Life was on mute.

By mid-April, I desperately missed my colleagues and students. I missed driving to work every day. I missed driving my daughter to swim practice each night. I missed my yoga classes at the gym. I missed being able to just go grab pasta or rice at the grocery store whenever I wanted to! Surprisingly, I missed the hectic pace of my life.

Now, I feel the true meaning of gratitude. As the pandemic lessens in my state, we have returned to more…

--

--

Jennifer Smith
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Dreamer, thinker, and writer. Author of Substack’s Voice and on Twitter: @Jennifer_Smith5