PARENTING

How An Apology Letter Won My Angry Daughter Back

Gabriela Francisco
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
4 min readAug 28, 2020

--

This is the secret for healing.

Photo by Debby Hudson on Unsplash

Monica was angry.

Very angry.

I had no idea why.

Monica was the kind of child that would hug her teachers and friends. The kind of child that would say goodbye with an “I love you.” The kind that would throw a sunny and encouraging word to her friends.

But, one day, she stopped showing affection to me.

Not much of a good night. No hugs. Certainly no “I love you.”

She was different when she was younger.

Monica used to cuddle with me every night. Being my youngest, she was the one I carried frequently, held close, and sang all night. She was my baby, and probably always will be.

My little one was sickly. She had a litany of allergies, overpowering challenges with asthma, and persistent eczema mapping her skin. So midnight wheezing and lung-pounding was constant. Lathering cream daily was our routine. Trips to the bathroom due to indigestion at 3 AM was our norm.

Having many allergies meant I had to cook a special meal for her daily, aside from the family’s regular menu. I read at least five books on allergies, researching on what was best…

--

--

Gabriela Francisco
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

💗Gabriela Francisco. ✍️Poet. 📗Avid storyteller. 🔆Sunset Chaser. 🐩Poodle lover. 📷Photographer. 🏝Beach walker.