Quotes and Lessons from Netflix’s ‘The Queen’s Gambit’

Lessons from 8 Quotes from the Queen’s Gambit

Samuel Aigbotsua
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

Photo from lifestyleasia.com

When last did you watch a movie about chess and not lose interest for any second? When did you play chess or watch a game of chess that kept you on the edge of your seat? Look no further than The Queen’s gambit. It is a captivating series that takes your breath away.

An unlikely hit for the year, the movie acts out the novel written by Waler Tevis. It has captured the heart of the nation decades after the book was first published. The first thing I noticed is the captivating visuals that took me back 60 years and the compelling storyline that kept me glued to my screen. It is the first series I’ve watched in a long time that has left me engrossed from start to finish, without a break.

Overview

The Queen’s Gambit gives us an insight into the life of a young Elizabeth Harmon with exceptional talent in chess. She struggles to fit in the orphanage home where she lived. In her struggle, she finds solace playing chess with the janitor in the basement. She starts off knowing nothing about chess and goes on a fascinating, turbulent journey defeating the best players much older than her to become the best chess player.

--

--

Samuel Aigbotsua
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Interested in all things tech, politics, and finance. I write, read, and code. I am Multifaceted and love poetry.