Let’s Talk About: ‘Selling Sunset’

Heather Copfer
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readDec 6, 2020
Photo courtesy of Lindy Lin | https://www.instagram.com/lindylinphoto/

I never thought that in the midst of my journey (for lack of a better word) as a film and TV writer that I’d be writing about reality television. I’m not even the biggest reality TV gal. Sure, I’ve been coerced into watching The Bachelor and its sister shows and am now an avid member of Bachelor Nation but I never thought to write about it. I leave all that relentless gossip to podcasting with my girlfriends (hi shameless plug for Popshack). But after watching my first season of Dancing With the Stars this year, I was intrigued by Chrishell Stause’s bubbly self. She’s from a reality TV show about selling houses in LA? Cool. I like snazzy houses I could never afford. So, I turned on Selling Sunset last night and today I’m starting season 2.

This show is about the clan of elite real estate agents at The Oppenheim Group who sell high-end properties to rich, and at times pompous, clients in the Hollywood Hills. Pompous in LA? Imagine that. There’s a lot of Louis Vuitton, botox, and drama obviously but reality TV is like a dumpster fire — you can’t look away, you know? Chrishell is the newest member of the team — the new kid on the block if you will — so a big part of the story arc in the first season is her proving herself on this powerhouse team. It’s fascinating to watch not only for these insane million-dollar houses but also because I can’t believe people like Christine actually exist.

That’s part of the fun in watching a reality TV show like this, isn’t it? It’s life and people that you can’t even fathom. It’s another world. Personally, I’m more into the backwoods, sweatpants all day everyday kinda thing. Maya’s my favorite “character” because she’s like the even-keeled mother hen. She’s never the source of any drama and in most cases, the voice of reason. More my speed. Christine on the other hand is quite different. She’s confrontational, has no filter, and is more glamorous than anyone I have ever seen. Lord knows I could never walk in five-inch heels and take shots the way this girl does. She’s the epitome of good TV.

A part of me watches Selling Sunset and constantly questions what’s real and what’s set up. Everyone knows that producers play a role in what the cast talks about, who goes to dinner with who, all that stuff. I mean, I don’t doubt that these women are selling 5 million-dollar homes and I legitimately enjoy the real estate aspect, but how hard do they push for the drama? It’s like one day Heather and Christine aren’t BFFs and the next they’re getting double foam lattes together. Who knows. I will never forget the series finale of The Hills back in 2010 when Brody was saying his sappy goodbye to Kristin, only to see the camera pull back to expose that the entire set was staged. I will never let that go.

Another main story arc of the first season is who is going to sell this 40 million-dollar home that’s in development. Whoever sells it, gets a whopping 1.2 million-dollar commission. That’s more money than I would know what to do with honestly. This house is incredible and all but why does someone need a 12-car garage? Just curious. I’m still making monthly payments on my 2012 Honda Civic. I don’t think I’d like to live in a 20,000 square-foot house, would you? I can’t imagine this pad feels very homey and I’m all about the homey, cozy vibes and not having to worry about getting lost and distressed, ya feel me? Just a whole nother world I suppose.

You can stream Selling Sunset now on Netflix.

(Special thanks to Lindy Lin for sending me the featured image for use).

--

--

Heather Copfer
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Freelance copywriter who occasionally publishes blog posts about health and all that jazz :)