Square

Looks can be deceiving

Bill Fraser
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
1 min readJul 6, 2021

--

Photo by Stefan Cosma on Unsplash

I’m assured we can still enjoy a lovely evening
the inquisitive spark of her eyes detecting my irritation
to fast encroaching lucidity.
I check my phone again for how many
eternal minutes had passed
feigning to myself hope that
my clandestine pockets had
obscured a call from my hearing.
She discusses our impatient arrangement
overdue on the litter of cool stone steps
forgotten by the city’s glow.
Our new friend cowers somewhat,
fear tap dancing across the pins
of her eyes, unsure what to make of
our burn-free fingertips and kempt, holeless
forearms glinting smooth and unscarred
in the moon’s shine.

Laughter too seductive to be genuine
but they’ll be no Oscars tonight
and besides
risk calculations never convince
an urge to go.
The woman mumbles something incoherent
about police amidst absent-minded promises
made with herself earlier
regarding her children.
‘We’re already here’ I state
as if our sloppy stroll through the
cuddling toxicated air was a
tumultuous journey.
Nobody ever leaves
the rust hued dim of this streetlight
once thought has grown from seed
least of all we might,
this thought leads me
to ponder how different
we even are
the square-toed couple with work
in forty or so hours.
My phone rings.

--

--

Bill Fraser
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Emotional explorations in love, grief & spirituality through poetry...