Staring at the Wall

JulieC.Lara
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readOct 18, 2020

--

Photo by Martino Pietropoli on Unsplash

When I received news, my parent had stage four cancer.

Breaking my heart.

Finding out that the physician was reading zero — three months to continue.

Shattered my mind and murdered my spirit.

I did not want to choose someone I just met to care of him.

It unsettled me they might not take care of him the way I could.

So I held the importance of wanting to care for him.

As he decreased downward, I recognized he constantly glared at the wall.

The way his eyes were lifeless, not like they were before they informed him about the disease.

They were vivid and had a soul.

Finally, I recognize he looked at it repeatedly.

I would ask, what are you glancing at on the wall?

He would never answer

I would change the topic

Two days before he retired in the coma.

I sought again.

Daddy, what are you glancing at on the wall.

Thinking he would not explain me.

He did.

It shocked me.

--

--