Take a Mental Health Day, It’s Good for the Soul

Heather Copfer
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readFeb 2, 2021
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

As of 2019, around 260 million people are affected by depression globally.

That’s a lot of people. And that’s just depression. There are people who also deal with anxiety, bipolar disorder, ADHD, PTSD…

The list goes on and on.

And it’s okay to not be okay.

Taking care of your mental health is one of the most important things you can do for yourself. And if there’s anything I’ve learned in my 26 years of living, it’s that you have to put yourself first.

I like to think that I was lucky enough to realize this early on in my life.

I’ve dealt with my fair share of depression. And although I’m at the best point I’ve ever been mentally in my life, as a teenager, it was crippling.

I was a depressed kid. I don’t think anyone could tell though; I was relatively good at hiding it.

Sometimes I woke up on a school day and I asked if I could stay home because I wasn’t “feeling good.” Luckily, I was allowed to because of my grades.

I was a straight-A student; you see. I got the grades so I could essentially ditch class and skip school when I wanted.

It was a habit that followed me into my college days. I’d wake up, feel unbearably sad, and go back to bed.

Eventually, I started to do things for myself when I was having these bad days. Things that would make me happy, make me laugh, and just make me feel better.

And no, I’m not talking about getting high.

I didn’t know it at the time but I was taking mental health days. Sometimes you need an entire day off to focus solely on yourself and your wellbeing.

I like to think that life is generally a wonderful thing. But sometimes life’s a bitch. I don’t know another way to put it.

You get stressed out; you feel depressed, you’re angry, you’re anxious... Life happens and it takes a toll on your mental health. So it’s insanely important that when life is tearing you down — take a mental health day (or 5).

Binge a show that makes you laugh your ass off

Whenever I’m feeling sad, I immediately turn on The Office. I’m not kidding you when I say that this show never fails to make me laugh, no matter how depressed I am.

I’ll order sushi or grab mint chip ice cream and binge all day.

But you may have a different show in mind, and that’s cool! Whichever that’ll get your sweet self laughing, dive on in.

Blast a soundtrack you can belt along to

Never underestimate the power of music.

It relieves stress, boosts your mood, and lessens anxiety. One of the best feelings I know is aimlessly driving around, with your music up loud, and belting along.

Here in New York, I don’t have a car. So I’ll plug in my headphones and usually turn on a musical. Dear Evan Hansen is my go-to, and The Greatest Showman is usually a follow-up.

If it’s not a musical, it’s a Thomas Rhett album.

Go for a stroll in nature and talk to yourself

Yes, talk to yourself. Out loud. In the beautiful outdoors, if you can.

Sometimes it feels as if you have no one to talk to. Or you don’t want to burden anyone with your problems. So, you hold it all in until you combust.

This is what you don’t want.

I love talking out loud to myself. It helps me sort through my thoughts and emotions. If I can be hiking on a mountain or walking through the park, all the better.

Your mental health matters.

You are what’s important. And your happiness and wellbeing is your first priority.

And hey, a day dedicated to your mental health may look completely different from mine. You may spend the day on the golf course or treat yourself to a facial and massage. Amazing. Whatever works for you, do it.

Even if you have a million and one things to do, if you’re not in a good headspace, take the day off. It’s good for your soul.

Resources:
https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/mental-disorders

--

--

Heather Copfer
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Freelance copywriter who occasionally publishes blog posts about health and all that jazz :)