The 3 Best Apps I’ve Found As A Novice In Virtual Reality World

Helena Anne
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
6 min readMar 13, 2021

--

A whole new world inside a headset.

The Elephant Experience in National Geographic 360. Photo credit: Author

Several years ago, a colleague asked me if I’d like to have a go of his VR headset. Little did I know the utter awesomeness of what was about to happen.

I put the headset on and was amazed at this incredible world I was transported into. I was sitting in a chair in a psychedelic galaxy, suspended in space. It seemed to be infinite, and when I looked down, I was looking into a very deep abyss. I got that weird fear of heights feeling and was shocked how my brain was perceiving this to be real.

This led me over the following years to consider the vast possibilities of what VR could be capable of. How it could be used to transport you to different worlds, diverse experiences, and dimensions without even leaving your house.

It was really freaky. When I looked around, all the people in the pub were staring at me. I actually got those cold sweats you get when you feel exposed.

I’ve never been a gamer or anything like that. I had a donkey kong when I was a kid and had a few games of space invaders but thats about it. Nor did I know a single person who had a VR headset, so when researching what to buy, I was…

--

--

Helena Anne
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Lover of Dogs and Yoga. Eternally searching for ways to expand my consciousness.