the last mile

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
1 min readJul 13, 2022
image from the internet

your hunger
your thirst
your joy
your sorrow
your needs
your wants
can surely wait
more than 10 minutes

unicorn badge
that desire
to rule the world
algos feeding
of our habits
those billions
will surely not vanish
they can surely wait
more than 10 minutes

next time
someone rings your doorbell
and hands over your order
do offer a glass of water
do chat if possible
and be generous in your tips
do remember
he has a house to run
and bills to pay
dreams to chase just like you

this is just
a gig temporary
a pause in the pursuit
of a larger dream
a last resort
when all else has failed

just like you
he has a name
and its not what’s printed
on his t-shirt
be nice
be patient
be human
thats all it takes
to light up his day
as he makes his way

just like you

--

--

Maruti Naik
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I write to remember. I write to remain honest. I write to leave a bread crumb trail for my daughter. I write to relax. Trying to impress my better half, I write