The Number 1 Key to Becoming a Successful Leader

Marcus Mohlin, Dr
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
4 min readMar 10, 2021

--

This is how you should change your leader style to become truly successful!

What is leadership really about? This is a question many of us ask, probably quite often, and from both sides. As an employee or co-worker you have certain wishes or even demands on how your boss should be (or perhaps, should not be). As a leader you probably have other expectations on your team members.

I remember a boss from when I was young. From the very beginning I sensed that something was a bit off with him. He was overbearing, controlling and spoke ill of other members of the team in front of his other team leaders (of which I was one). People who were not up to his standards were removed, or even fired.

I also remember the boss I had after that one. Totally different story. Including and supportive, listened more than he spoke. Set clearly defined goals, gave mandates and came back to check up on targets and results.

Two very different persons, and two completely different leader styles.

I suppose we have all experienced both types in many guises.

I am now slightly more experienced, having been a co-worker, a team member, a team leader and a boss over the years. I have led individuals and I have led leaders and I have supervised boards and I have…

--

--

Marcus Mohlin, Dr
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Writing about life in general and just trying to be a good parent, husband and friend