They are Voyagers. They Will Be Alright.

If asteroids could talk, what would they say?

Margarita Beatrice
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readNov 5, 2020

--

Photo by Kristopher Roller on Unsplash

View the photo of asteroid 243 Ida and its natural satellite, Dactyl, here.

“Dactyl, how do I look?” 243 Ida asked its good friend.

“You look stunning, Ida! Your craters are as deep as ever! Why do you ask?” Dactyl replied.

“Good. Look up, Dactyl, and show off your biggest smile. A young human Earthling is gazing up at us,”

“Really? How nice of them to do so!”

Ida sighed. “I do miss that strange satellite that the human Earthlings sent to us a while ago. It was a very handsome piece of work, you know. I found out that they called that craft ‘Galileo.’”

“Yes, human Earthlings are quite good at that. They are good at making names, too, like Dactyl, Earth, Galileo, and Ida!”

“Earth and Galileo are fine names. However, I think it is time we name ourselves something else. What if I call you Chris? There are handsome people down on Earth called Chris. You are just as handsome.”

“Chris is a boys’ name, Ida. I am not a boy,” Dactyl replied.

“Why, of course, you are not a boy! You are a rock. But I like how ‘Chris’ sounds. I would like to rename myself as Pia. Pia is a very nice name.”

“I am sticking with the name Dactyl,” Dactyl replied.

“As you wish. Gosh, that one asteroid keeps coming back and hitting on me. I know I am irresistible as it is, but I already have enough craters, don’t you think?”

“Dear Ida, I don’t think anyone can have one too many craters. All of them just goes to show how many objects can’t resist gravitating towards your unique charm and ethereal beauty,”

“Why, I guess so. And didn’t I tell you I am Pia now?”

“Oh yes, my bad. What is that human Earthling doing now?” Dactyl asked.

“I think it is writing something down. Yes, and now it is looking at us again. The rest of Earth looks quite odd, Dactyl,”

“How so?”

“It is raining in places where it is not supposed to rain. The wildfires in some parts are taking way too long to die down. I am worried, Dactyl. I wonder if they are alright,”

“They have been through a lot in the past. I think they should be fine,” Dactyl replied.

“But, there are so many floods…of water. Of eye tears and pain and hopelessness. The Earthlings are drowning in it all, and I am afraid how they will pull through this time around,”

“They will work together…won’t they? Yes, it is difficult to watch. And yes, it may make you despair. We can’t do anything from where we are right now but I am certain, and I assure you, that they will do something about it…those human Earthlings will work with all those otters and giraffes and octopuses and they will persevere.

Whenever they have encountered problems, that’s what they’ve done. Watch those flocks of birds a little, and you’ll see how they adapt to the changes around them. Watch the humans a little as they pass through stormy seas because you’ll think they’ve finally gone under the water, but wait a little while and you’ll see them arrive at the shore with battered faces as they sew their sails back together and hammer their floorboards back onto the sides of the ship.

Human Earthlings are smart. Remember all the strange contraptions they keep passing through here? They must have encountered a lot of problems to build such tough and adaptable machines. Didn’t they call some of those things ‘Voyagers?’

All the Earthlings are Voyagers, Ida. All the Cherry salmon and poodles and black bears will pull through with everyone else. They have to. They will fight to keep their little world and all their dreams afloat. They successfully weather the hardships that come their way…we must watch and see,”

“I suppose so, Dactyl, I suppose so…maybe they will be alright. Now, the young human Earthling is showing us to someone else, someone older and bigger. Smile wide, Dactyl!”

References:

Choi, C. Q. (2017, September 20). Asteroids: Fun Facts and Information About Asteroids. Space.com. Retrieved 2020, from https://www.space.com/51-asteroids-formation-discovery-and-exploration.html

NASA. (2019, December 19). 243 Ida. NASA Science Solar System Exploration. Retrieved 2020, from https://solarsystem.nasa.gov/asteroids-comets-and-meteors/asteroids/243-ida/in-depth/

--

--

Margarita Beatrice
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

19. MNL, PH. Sometimes I read, and sometimes I write. Sometimes I ask questions, and hope to bring the answers to light. Thanks for stopping by!