The Friendly Flower
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readJun 6, 2021

--

Van Gogh Immersive Exhibit

I’ve been to the Van Gogh museum in Amsterdam, I’ve seen his prized work curated and in chronological order. I’ve read Van Gogh’s book of letters, displaying his pending insanity and not. I’ve seen the very blue kitchen at Monet’s house and peered out at the later generation of water Lilly’s that inspired the man. I’ve rejected their obligatory self portraits, aside from an emotional hit. I’ve grown fond of Manet’s seascapes. I’ve learned about previous day-to-day life through Pissarro.

I’ve been called stunted in my love of this art. Called out for devotion to the most introductory art access. Impressionism can be pretty and swirly. And yet, it can be dark. Van Gogh painted for 9 years. He died at 37. Those nine years are not just a bed. They are not just a vase of flowers. They are more than the sad eyed portraits. They are more than the still life and they are certainly more than the crows and blue and gold final paintings.

Sitting through the roughly 1 hour Van Gogh immersion dragged me to an immediate creative point. While some of the liberties taken bugged a long time lover of the paintings, it was like visiting an old friend. Made me reminisce about the many adventures I’ve taken to stare at the paintings. Showered me with love for the paintings I’ve bought prints of and framed with care and quality while taking over the walls in my home. Made me smile at the immediate engagement…

--

--

The Friendly Flower
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I collect good people. I’m bitterly delightful. I’m an extrovert.