What I Learned About Being a Writer from Ta-Nehesi Coates

Carla D. Wilson Laskey
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
5 min readDec 10, 2020

--

A Degree in Writing or Journalism is Not Required to Succeed

Photo by Rochelle Nicole on Unsplash

“But I don’t have a degree in Writing or Journalism!”

Geeze, if I were paid for every time this thought has rummaged through the crevices of my brain matter. I would be rich.

Ok. Maybe not rich. But being paid each time I entertained this thought might be enough to replace my former income. Then I could focus on writing full-time without any money worries for the next 12 months.

You see. I am a writer. But I didn’t go to school to be a writer. I’m sure many people writing on this wonderful Medium platform can relate. I thank the Medium gods for making a space for us.

I have an undergraduate degree in Business Administration. The 12 hours of graduate coursework I completed is for a Masters’s in Counseling Psychology.

Even so. I have been writing all along the way because why? I told you. I’m a self-proclaimed writer dammit!

An Interview with Ta-Nehisi Coates, author of Between the World and Me

Anyway, I took French in my first semester of college. I got an F, and my long descent out of the ranks of the University was on…

--

--

Carla D. Wilson Laskey
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Using words to inspire, motivate, and encourage us all to positively impact the world for the greater good of all! https://linktr.ee/CarlaDee