What I Learned About Family From My Son and His New Bride

It’s all about perspective.

Kestley Knoble
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

Pixabay

Ever since our youngest child left home, I’ve struggled to make dinner for my husband and myself. It seems like a lot of work for two people. It’s been four years since we became empty-nesters, and I still haven’t been able to get my mind around the fact that there’s just two of us.

My husband works from home, which means we’re both home all day. While he doesn’t mind cooking, neither of us can remember to take something out of the freezer in time for dinner. The dinners we have now are a far cry from the planned meals we prepared when there were six people to feed.

To complicate (justify) things further, I suffer from stomach problems that severely limit my diet. It’s hard to find the motivation to prepare a meal when you know you won’t be able to eat what you’re cooking. I’ve been surviving on meal replacement bars as they seem to be the only thing that agrees with me, and I’ve left my husband to fend for himself.

We taught all four of our children how to cook, but our youngest son enjoys it the most. He’s in the Air Force, and when he lived the single life in the dorms, he’d often send me pictures of the meals he prepared. One of his favorite things to do was go fishing and then grill the fish he caught with some…

--

--

Kestley Knoble
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I write from the ❤. I write from experience. I share my writing with the hope it will make a connection, provoke thought, or change a life. Maybe yours.