What I Learned Fainting at a Renaissance Faire

Deanna
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
13 min readJul 26, 2021

--

Is All Art a Self-Portrait?

I realized something recently; all of my art might be a self-portrait.

I can’t step outside of my being to perceive my art, so all of my art is therefore an extension of my soul. It then gets perceived by the collective, and everyone elses’ inner reality. So is gets perceived by three different “realities” I guess?

In my particular reality, my inner realm, I can’t know what it’s like not to see a piece that I’m creating. I can’t create something that I am not already perceiving in myself; I can’t create from nothing.

Similar to the concept that everyone is a mirror, reflecting our versions of self, our self-worth and current experience back to us. If I go up to someone and something they do pisses me off, that is probably reflecting something back to me about myself, my subconscious.

So I think art must do a similar thing where it’s this physical existence of a two-way mirror into these different realities.

I had this realization because I kept thinking about the difference in realities and how we all have to move through each one through art. I think that’s the purpose of art. At least for me…

--

--

Deanna
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Artist, Writer, and Host of the Podcast and Newsletter, Walk Me Home