When You Have A Cereal Obsession

Who made the rule that cereal should be eaten at breakfast only?

Lana Graham
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

Photo by Criativithy from Pexels

My mother visited my house the other day. When she opened the kitchen pantry, she let out an audible gasp. She stared at me with a perplexed look.

“Why on earth do you have so many breakfast cereals in here?” She asked, flabbergasted.

I shrugged. “Well, I eat granola for breakfast, and the kids eat Weetbix and Rice Bubbles in summer and porridge in winter. I’ve got Nutrigrain for after-lunch snacks. And then there’s Coco Pops Chex for dessert. Oh, and that box of limited-edition Unicorn Froot Loops is just for fun. Did you know they taste exactly like the one I used to eat as a kid in the 80s?”

It was the moment I realised I have a cereal obsession.

The problem is, I live in Australia where we have nowhere near the abundance of cereal choices as the lucky folk do in the United States.

I’ve dreamt of eating a bowl of Cap’n Crunch for as long as I can remember. And now I hear there are different flavours. (Stop teasing, Cotton Candy Crunch!)

Even worse, Australian cereal-makers have started to change breakfast cereals into ‘healthy’ options by taking out some of the sugar and salt content and replacing it with… to be honest, I don’t…

--

--