Why Do I Keep Getting Passive Income Inquiries on LinkedIn?

Shiri Feldman
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readJan 25, 2021

Beware of This LinkedIn Scam

Photo by Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

As I’ve been working on building my LinkedIn presence over the past year, I have received quite a few direct messages on the platform regarding “entrepreneurial ventures.” The message sender will introduce themselves, comment on my current role, offer some form of praise, and ask if I would be willing to jump on a quick call to discuss a side project with them.

As someone in their twenties, working hard to grow in my career, I usually say yes, since learning about someone’s business or a possible side hustle can’t hurt. However, I’m starting to wonder if this attitude comes across in my profile, increasing the likelihood of being contacted by scammers. Because so far, all these calls have been scams.

On the Phone With a Scammer

Once on the phone, the person who sent me the LinkedIn message will introduce themselves and ask about my background. They say they noticed I work a full-time day job, and ask if I’m interested in continuing to do so in the future. They ask if I have any interest in entrepreneurship and whether I’m familiar with the term passive income.

This is where the red flags begin appearing in the conversation. The caller shares that they are working on a passive income venture with the long-term goal of not being tied down to a desk job. They paint a beautiful picture and ask me to imagine having the freedom and flexibility to spend more time with loved ones or enjoy a regular Tuesday at the beach. They share stories of friends in their thirties who have been able to retire, now enjoying travel and free time to explore their hobbies.

Since it all seems too good to be true, I ask the caller some questions: What does the work consist of? Can you give me more information on the business? What would my role be? They can never provide me with clear answers. It is not a regular job, they explain. We cannot provide you with a job description- it’s passive income. Each time I receive these calls, I nicely express disinterest in the “opportunity”, annoyed that I keep getting targeted by this scam.

Doing Some Research

Interested to see if others have received similar messages and calls, I scoured Reddit and found a LinkedIn subreddit titled “LinkedIn Scam?” from six months ago where people reported receiving similar vague messages and passive income calls. One Reddit user reported that they received seven of these inquires within the span of a week! Users also mentioned that it’s really people trying to get you on board with their MLM and that they would eventually ask for money.

A Recent Experience

This past week, I got another “business venture” inquiry that piqued my interest. You see, the message was from a current LinkedIn employee. I figured it couldn't be another scam if they worked at LinkedIn, and scheduled a call with her over chat. On the phone, the caller came off as kind and educated, sharing a bit about herself. She seemed genuine and interested in getting to know me. However, as the conversation continued, I realized that this call was no different than the others. I politely conveyed a lack of interest and got off the phone. Once again, I had been a target of this passive income scam.

After this most recent call, I got to thinking. Firstly, I wonder what the next steps would have been if I expressed interest during the call. Secondly, how many people are falling victim to this scam? Third, do these scammers approach people with entry-level business positions who are more likely struggling to make ends meet? And lastly, why would someone with a good-paying job working for LinkedIn get involved in such a scam?

I don’t have answers to these questions but had to share my experience. Please beware of scams on social media! If something sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

Have you received similar messages on LinkedIn? Feel free to share your experience in the comment section!

--

--

Shiri Feldman
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Just a twenty-something-year-old gal trying to get my life together