Why Do We Keep Buying New Notebooks All the Time?

And why do we only use the first ten pages, leaving the rest empty? I do it, I’m sure you do too

Nicolas Carteron
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

I moved flats recently. While emptying my drawers and packing my boxes, I stumbled upon many forgotten objects: old pictures, schoolbooks, birthday cards.

I also found an ungodly amount of notebooks.

They all shared a common trait. Their first few pages would all be covered in fast-jotted notes about grand topics on which I’d always wanted to write a book.

Then, after 5 or 6 pages, nothing. The rest was empty, blank, sad pages.

I must have done this at least 12 or 15 times in the past 5 years.

Photo by Charl Folscher on Unsplash

I have an idea I want to write about, but for some reason, my computer or the notebooks I already possess are not good enough for this idea. No! I need fresh, crisp paper and a new flowing pen.

Having purchased the much-needed material, I’d get back home, start frantically writing what would be a Nobel-winning novel or essay, stream-of-consciousness, and all.

--

--

Nicolas Carteron
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

I write about politics, business, society and culture on Medium. For startup/business content, check my newsletter: fundraisedd.substack.com