Why I Stopped Opposing Feminism

If this is you, consider this your invitation

Elizabeth Lou
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

Photo by Matthew Henry from Burst

A statement I’ve heard and said many times:

“I’ve never considered myself a feminist.”

Angry women protesting on the street? Not for me.

I grew up in rural America. If you’re like me, maybe you can relate. I have a mom who can weld. She built fences while I sat in a car seat when I was two years old.

I wore boots and jeans and worked outside with the boys.

I considered myself someone who could work alongside the boys, but knew how to take a step back. I worked hard, earned what I had and you certainly weren’t going to catch me protesting something I lacked.

My household was also conservative. You didn’t rock the boat or question. You kept any emerging non-conforming thoughts to yourself.

To question beliefs meant to question our familial origins, and it just wasn’t something we did. Something today I might claim is partially rooted in adultism.

As I got older and created physical distance from home, I allowed myself to think more deeply about my surroundings. Even more, I started to think more deeply about my experiences both as a child and as a young female in corporate America.

--

--

Elizabeth Lou
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Product of male-dominated industries / Wife / Survivor Advocate /Challenger of accepted beliefs