Obsession Will Make You Happy

Jose Guzman
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
3 min readJul 7, 2022

Passion proves that I’m not done with life, yet.

Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

Obsessions are often times considered immoral.

Some people find obsessing over hobbies unnatural because they don’t have any hobbies and don’t understand the feeling.

I have dealt with both situations and more and just because I felt like skateboarding was more valuable to me than being the typical “bread winner”.

There’s also been more than a few times when I allowed those voices to win — where I walked away from skateboarding because I wanted to fit a certain mould and character.

I wanted people to think more of me than a ragtag degenerate.

Many have felt the sting of rejection

People are rejected all the time, but for some reason, I have seen more people give up the things they truly love and obsess about as though that were the embarrassing part of their character.

It could be that people attach a sense of childishness in the hobbies that bring them the most joy.

People don’t normally give up huge aspects of their life after being rejected at the local bar, but it seems that once people hit a certain age, they want to dump any sense of uniqueness out the window.

They are afraid of showing their true feelings and character through the things they find interesting.

Skateboarding feels like a crime

One key difference between skateboarding and any other sport is the unique and ripe sense of rebelliousness and sense of freedom that makes adults hate it.

However, the older I got and the more I saw that most adults are actually depressed, I stopped asking myself permission to enjoy life.

I recently made myself a promise to take skateboarding more seriously, and it’s helped me realize that skateboarding early on a weekday does feel a little weird.

I feel like I’m breaking some sort of unspoken rule. Like the corporate gods are reading my mind. They know I’ve chosen fun over work.

I don’t let the voice win, and it eventually dies off beneath the sound of my skating.

Obsession and passion are alike but different

One thing about skating that I recently realized is that because I obsess over it, I get to see a different part of myself.

I get to see a real passionate person, instead of some sad shadow of a person.

I actually feel alive, as though there is something worthwhile about life that isn’t preprogrammed or prearranged by the patriarchy and old mothers wanting the perfect son-in-law.

There is something about being passionate that sets people free as well. Your mind is dialed-in on a topic that absorbs your body and mind.

It makes you forget about the small stuff that won’t matter in the next ten years.

The difference between passion and obsession is that an obsession consumes you. It takes up your free time and even when you walk away from it, your mind wants to go there.

Your mind wants to imagine that you’re doing the thing you live for.

A passion is gained over time and it builds. It hits a point where you’re all in, but it can disappear like a flame.

Obsessions sit and dwell in you for years until you give in or lose yourself.

Life isn’t serious

I probably sound crazy, but it’s true that most people have given up. They either fake what they like or give themselves reasons to like something they hate.

Like social parties.

We do ourselves a disservice by ignoring the things we love and obsess about.

--

--

Jose Guzman
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

Literature focused with an interest in life, relationships, and learning. USMC Vet