Take a picture of your small life-fails, especially now.

Is it the beginning of a bad day or just a bad five minutes that can become a bright memory?

Tiffany Harness
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

--

My real-life coffeemaker  without a carafe, coffee spilled widely over the countertop.
My actual kitchen.

I woke up early this morning for no particular reason. The state of stay-home works pretty well for me and I love the quiet mornings without responsibilities. Maybe I’ll vacuum today, but I said that yesterday too. It’s not like we’re having company.

After twisting open the blinds to let some sunlight in, I rinsed the coffee carafe and filled the water canister on my Ninja coffeemaker. I dropped two scoops of dark roast and two scoops of light roast (because I have particular taste, what?) into the paper-lined basket and pressed the Classic Brew button. My daughter and I have been working on a colorful puzzle on the dining table for a few days so I perched on the chair in front of it while the coffee perked away.

The only sounds around me were the coffeemaker and some pretty little songbirds chirping on the patio around their bowl of seeds. That’s when it started. The little voice in my head.

The rest of the house will have a heyday with this, I thought, I’ll never live it down.

--

--