You Don’t Need a Budget, You Just Need These Two Accounts

Kelley C. Long
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
5 min readAug 3, 2020

--

Photo by Church of the King on Unsplash

Have you ever heard of the “see food” diet? I like to joke that sometimes that’s my diet: I see food and I eat it! The best way for people like me to stick to a plan to eat more nutritiously is to just have the foods I want to eat more of in sight, while limiting the junk food, right?

Well, I also use the “see money” budget to manage my cash flow, and I think a lot of people do this as well, mostly unintentionally: I see money and I spend it. That’s why the only money I keep in my spending account is money that I can afford to spend on discretionary stuff like sushi, wine, cat toys and spa pedicures, while money that I need for things like veterinary expenses, car problems and groceries is separated out.

The same principle applies when it comes to sticking to any type of spending or savings plan — if you want to spend less money so that you have enough set aside to pay for things that come up, for people on the “see money” budget, the best way to do that is to get it out of your sight.

--

--

Kelley C. Long
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)

CFP & CPA writing about money & how it fits into life based on my work with everyday people as a financial coach. www.financialblisscoach.com