Nukhet Hendricks
An Idea (by Ingenious Piece)
2 min readJul 16, 2019

--

YOU’RE TOO STRONG FOR A WOMAN,” he says, the VP of the board with the military cut.

-

It’s Alice in Wonderland as I feel myself shrink in the chair facing his big desk.

-

“Take it down a notch,” he barks.

-

Now I’m so small my feet don’t touch the ground, + my heart breaks. Quietly.

-

No one’s ever told me I was too strong.

-

“Sen daglarin anasisin. Daglari yikacak kadar guclusun.”

-

“You can move mountains.”

-

This is what my parents said to me every day growing up.

-

When this happens, I am 35, living in Fargo, North Dakota, far from my native country of Turkey where the blue Mediterranean swells + fierce Ottoman women rule.

-

Cut to a decade later, different organization, me sitting at my own formidable desk, + a staff member sitting across from me.

-

“You’ve simply got to do better,” I say sharply.

-

The staff member’s face reddens, then crumples, as fat tears spill down her cheeks.

-

This is my wake-up call. My lowest point. For in that moment, I realize I have become a bitch in heels.

-

Not strong, the way my Ottoman mother + aunts + grandmothers + ancestors were, as they lifted the country from ruin during WWI + into the current day.

-

No. This authority smacked of meanness. The opposite of my training. Because I stuffed down the true strength + grace my family + culture taught me, it came out harsh + cold. Cold + gray as the long Fargo winters.

-

This wasn’t me.

-

I flashed on the blue of the Mediterranean, which lies within me, vast + sparkling one minute, intense + direct the next.

-

That was the true leadership in my blood.

-

The blood of my grandmother, a teacher when women were not even allowed to leave the house. My mother, too. My people. They were the leaders.

-

Compassionate. Able to step back when others reaped rewards. The kind of gentle confident strength that moves mountains with a whisper. Or firm, loving word.

-

From that moment on, I reclaimed my leadership. The kind that sparkles with fierce firmness + softness all at once.

-

The staff member who cried, she is one of our most trusted + successful, standout employees. Every day, she creates magic. I am honored + privileged she gave me a second chance.

-

If you find yourself nodding as you read, if you’re ready to make this shift yourself, comment below or email me at info@sheleadsfearlessly.com. I’m here for you.

--

--