Charlotte Bent, Copywriter (NY)

AnalogFolk
We are AnalogFolk
Published in
2 min readOct 29, 2018

Charlotte goes bonkers for lifting. Check her out in full glory here:

Charlotte Bent, Copywriter, AF US (New York)

What is your passion outside work?

I’m an Olympic weightlifting coach at a Crossfit gym in Brooklyn.

How long have you been doing it?

I got my certificate two years ago.

When did you start?

Six years ago, I fell head-over-heels for lifting really (really) heavy weights, inspired by the strong, chiseled women I’d witness throwing barbells over their head at a local Crossfit gym in Manchester.

As soon as I placed my hands on a barbell I felt confident and capable, not only inside the gym but outside too. When we exercise we release endorphins — I think we release superpowers. I wanted more women to get the opportunity to see their own superpowers. I made the decision to take the Olympic lifting coaching course with the goal of coaching women to show them what their bodies are capable of.

How do you balance this with life at AF?

Being a Crossfit coach is super flexible. I only coach in the evening and on the weekend. If I have a pitch coming up or long agency nights ahead of me I always make sure another coach can cover my class.

What advice would you give to someone who wanted to start a passion project?

If you are passionate about something, just go for it. I love teaching athletes, young and old, to do things they never thought possible. This year, I trained one of my athletes for her first lifting meet. She took third place. When she stood on the podium and I saw how proud she was, I knew that being a coach would never get old.

Wildcard question: Makeup or fresh face?

My lifting face requires zero makeup.

--

--

AnalogFolk
We are AnalogFolk

We help brands use digital technology in ways that make the analog world better.